top of page
  • Writer's pictureTeresa Carstetter

"Whoreship I & II"

By Adesokan Tunde (Toonday)


(Twitter: @tunde_adesokan

Instagram: @toondayatkins

Facebook: tunde.w.adesokan)



"Whoreship I"



Abeni,

Are your eyes the sparkle

in the night stars?

Are you the peaceful ripples

in the homeward river?

The distance cloaks in

the coming dawn?

Listen.

My water cannot choke

your fish

My breeze cannot stumble

your bird


Let my words fly you home

Let my rhythms riddle

your body

Let me spill you to gods

this night

Before the dusk invades

the rafter

of our panting chests.




"Whoreship II"


Abeni, I will dress you in the eve

of apple leaves –

in the edges of knowledge unsettling

our world

A stone ripples unwanted waves

in a hidden pond

An axe sharpened by many years

Beetles beating a dead branch

to breathe

Eyes moon-wide opened


I can now plough the topography

Of thy body

The apple red of thy lips


The inciting rays of your eyes

I espy mountains at the back

Of a midland meadow –

I seek knowledge from

The Valley betwixt.


If Adam eyes never eat

the veil of its innocence

How will poetry be this good

How will you be this full?




About the Author:



Adesokan Tunde (Toonday) writes from Oyo State, Nigeria. He works with Firstbank.


He is a lover of poetry; a lover of everything that breathes poetry. His works appeared / forthcoming in Pangolin Review, Wales Haiku, Ethel-Zine, Shallowtales Review, Stillwater Review, RoadRunnerReview, Lucent Dreaming etc.


Twitter:@tunde_adesokan


Instagram: @toondayatkins


Facebook: tunde.w.adesokan

76 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page