top of page
  • Writer's pictureTeresa Carstetter

Three Poems

By Ali Ashhar


(Twitter: @AliAshhar11

Instagram: @ali_ashhar1)


Soulful Voice



I sit beneath the sky

on a midsummer night

aside the brook

aloof from the turbulence

and cacophonies I try to evade

there is a voice that lies

beneath the layers of my soul

that speaks to me the loudest

it communicates with me

and overrules thousand emotions

rippling through the waves of times

it comes ashore

it comes home

I sing mellifluously

the melodies of silence

under the grim sky

I sing mellifluously

the melodies of silence

under the grim sky.




Evasion


From the rattles of world

I try to find refugee

in the solitude of my soul

I evade getting touched by

the harsh winter

that chases me

my heart seeks

a warm vibrant spring

amidst the freezing ghettoes

lucent dreams carves

a hazy arc

from the horizon of yesterday

I remember a

different version of myself

through the summer boulevard

I try to get away from my present

on a quest to get back to my past

but the cycle goes on….

and so does the life.




Lanes


On a midsummer night

I stand

on the balcony stargazing.

I ramble through

the lanes of memories thither,

I breathe in your aroma

as the horizon manifests

the shards of your name

a lucent flashback

trails amidst the

enswathing zephyr

of erstwhile tenderness;

a shot in the dark

of faded environ

like that shooting star

from our cupid sky.





About The Author:



Ali Ashhar is a poet, short story writer and columnist. He is the author of poetry collection, Mirror of Emotions. His works appear in Indian Review, The Raven Review, Bosphorus Review of Books, among others.


You can follow Ali on Twitter: @AliAshhar11

21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page