top of page
  • Writer's pictureTeresa Carstetter

The Soul of Wine

By Peter Donnelly

(Twitter:@Peatstweet)


After the French of Charles Baudelaire.


One night, the soul was wine warbling in its bottles:

"Dejected man, to you I now turn my gaze

From my jail of vermilion wax and glass

And extend good will to you in a light-blaze!


“Incepted from the sweat and heat beating


At the sun-scorched and -baked hill --

It set my soul and being germinating --

I’ll never be ungrateful or effect any ill.



“I rush over with joy when released

Down the throat of those drained by labour.

Like a gentle tomb to me, the human chest --

I realize myself in there, as if back in the cellar!


“Can you recall the Sunday-mass chants,

And the hope singing through my body?


Sleeves rolled, elbows on table, you’re content;


It delivers to me a kind of glory.


“I’ll imbue your wife’s eyes with light, instill

Life-force and -colour in your son;

To the bruised athlete of life, I’ll be the oil

That soothes the muscle it’s rubbed on.


“Into you I fall, vegetal ambrosial –

Precious grain scattered by the eternal Sower!


And poetry germinating out of this love will

Manifest and bloom like a rare flower!”


(2016)



About the Author:




Peter Donnelly’s first collection, Photons, was published by Appello Press in 2014.


His second collection, Money Is a Kind of Poetry, was published by Smokestack Books in 2019, and he is (slowly) working on a third collection.


He occasionally tweets @Peatstweets.

110 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page