top of page
  • Writer's pictureTeresa Carstetter

Surrounding Discord & Other Poems

Updated: Mar 28, 2023

By R. Gerry Fabian


(Twitter @GerryFabian2

IG: @Gery3397)



Surrounding Discord


I feel the pulsing.

in the day;

it is in half notes.

As the sun falls,

it changes to quarter notes.

It is usually joined

by other rhythms.

They are known

to mesh in harmony.

Sometimes,

they stray atonal.

Alone,

the pulsing is acoustic

and hollow.

It goes beyond

any standard scale.

There are no definable measures.

It can become nothing less

than the genius

fingering the fringe

of complete recognition.




Scar Tissue Explained


I went back

to one of the many houses

that guarded me

during an uprooted childhood.

The trees,

I so hated to plant

during those hot Saturdays

when the other boys

smoked and swam

and invented curses,

had grown tall enough

to provide the wind shelter

my father designed.

The blood from

my nineteen-stitch cut

still coated a corner

of the outdoor patio

where I stood

with blood running

down my arm.

My fears of falling off

the roof

returned

as I remembered

that massive antenna.

sliding down the roof with me.

There’s a different pain,

now.




Superficial Wounds


still inflict temporal pains

that need ointment and gauze.

Doses of sunlight,

cool spring water

and

hammock rest

only solve

the current

measured malady.





About the Author:



R. Gerry Fabian is a published poet and novelist.

He has published four books of his published poems, Parallels, Coming Out Of The Atlantic, Electronic Forecasts and Ball On The Mound.

In addition, he has published four novels : Getting Lucky (The Story), Memphis Masquerade, Seventh Sense and Ghost Girl.

You can follow him on social media:

Twitter @GerryFabian2

IG: Gery3397

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page