top of page
  • Writer's pictureTeresa Carstetter

Talking Heads: Inspiration

Updated: Jan 30, 2023



How do you approach writing a difficult piece?




Imelda Wei Ding Lo (Editor):

My approach to writing a difficult piece is simple. First, I think about why I think a particular piece is difficult. Are the emotions difficult to explain, for instance? Or is the topic just too complicated to tackle?


Then, I think of a solution to the problem.


If the problem is structural (i.e., the story is too complex to explain in one short story), I will come up with another way to explore the story. For instance, let's say I don't have enough free time to write a novel about a complicated theme.


To solve this problem, I will write a series of short stories about a particular theme instead of a whole novel to save time and energy.


If the problem is about how I use words or how I explore certain themes (for example, a certain emotion or character that's difficult to put into words), I will put the story on the backburner. Sometimes, you have to live life, read others' writings, and talk to people before you gain the ability to put something into words.




Ashwini Gangal:


I approach a difficult piece by being honest. I believe my truth is everyone's truth. Being raw, real and stark is the best way to make your reader become one with your writing.


What makes a piece difficult is the reality it is based on, even if it's fiction. Staying close to reality - writing as you see, hear and experience things - makes your fiction both difficult and magical.



Nick Young:


Each piece is in its way difficult — challenges

of plot, character development, tone, language, etc.


My method is to push against the resistance but not too hard. I have found that trying to force the issue beyond a certain point is counterproductive.


This complements my writing habit, which is composition in short bursts. It is during these interims that I most often see the way forward.


I am reminded of comments I read many years ago by C.S. Forester, the creator of Horatio Hornblower.


Using a maritime analogy, he likened the evolution of a story idea in his subconscious to a piece of timber which sinks beneath the surface of the water, there to grow over time by the accretion of barnicles until it floats up and presents itself for writing.

While I tend not to be quite that passive, I find wisdom in restraint. It usually serves me well.




Tete DePunk (Editor):


Previously, I muddled around with a work until it became unworkable, and then abandoned it.


Now, I try to see an endgoal for any new work I approach. If there is a clear goal in sight with a story, I proceed to begin work on it.


Usually it's pacing and learning the genuine fiber of the character that are the biggest challenges.


Sometimes, a work can evolve as I learn more of the character and their narrative.

But at the end of the day, I try to keep my eye on that precious endgoal.





R. N. Roveleh (Editor)


One way to approach writing something difficult is research.


Whether the difficulty comes from a heavy or polarising topic, or from the need for a different technique and finesse of wording, research helps me infuse my writing with that touch of realism that creates immersion for the reader.


The more I learn about the issue, the more inspiration I get and the easier it is to crystallise my ideas and put them into words.

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page