top of page
  • Writer's pictureTeresa Carstetter

Creators' Corner

Updated: Aug 31, 2022



Q: What inspires you in a story?


Tete DePunk:


Any solid story that shows strong, flesh-out characters.


And any story that can impart a genuine learning experience for me, too.


Stories and characters should make us think and relearn ideas and beliefs.


Fortunus Games:


Same here.


One of the movies that did this really well was Pixar's Lightyear, which we both really enjoyed. I also enjoyed how it challenged our ideas of what a kid's film should be like.


Yukta Muniraj:


In a story, I feel people and life itself inspire me. When I look around me and the people in my life, there are times when they open up to me with their vulnerable selves, and I hear so much from them.


Every single person has their own story.


When I start to write, I always take inspiration from what I hear from friends and colleagues. I mix up their stories and intervene with them. The most important thing that I have learnt is that when having a story is "Emotions".

We all connect to emotions and when that is missing, we do not read them, not just in stories but in songs or movies either. They hold stories and emotions.


We like a song when it sounds good, but we love a song when we understand and connect to the emotion. The same goes with stories.


Alexander Etheridge:


I write poems, and I find inspiration from a number of sources. Often it's the fantastic poetry of someone I'm reading---other times it may be a memorable line from a song or film.


And of course my love poems are inspired by wonderful ladies. I'm also fond of writing various series of poems around a particular subject.


I've done a series about walking, and a series of "fables," also a group of poems about nightmares.

I look for inspiration everywhere, and I'll take it any way I can!


Ivan de Monbrison:


If it's prose, the story is a sort of a diary, I make myself write every day for a certain amount of time, the story is made of pieces of my daily life.


Usually what triggers the beginning of the process can change over the years, it can be a break up, a loss, a trauma... The process will stop when I get the feeling that I can't go on anymore , because it puts a big pressure on me.


If it's a poem, it's usually made with recurrent mental images that I have, these images are like bricks with which I build a wall, the more images, the higher the wall, the longer the poem will be.


Chaitali Nath:


I believe it's the idea of the movement in the storyline, which comes with its own set of character developments, which is the most inspiring part for me.


It's literally like watching your characters grow into their own people, mould their lives a certain way, be their own people and choose things, concepts and ideas that they would probably not have chosen earlier, and yet be the same person at the core, while they walk into their fated positions at every other pedestal, it's what makes me feel so happy.


It makes me feel like the story is actually very real, and just as equally a part of the Universe as the perceived reality, because I am a strong believer in the fact that what is destined for one will find its way to one, regardless of other things and things will actually happen in that way to drive the change.


It feels very life-like to see it actually fall into place that way, and that's what inspires me most.

25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page